School time Peace of Mind

School time is around the corner so I’ve printed off my “peace of mind” sheets! On this pile of paper I write what the kids do and learn daily. I’ll start recording information on August 18th and keep 180 days of records. I do this, totally, for my own comfort as my state doesn’t require records. Like the boy scouts say, “Always Be Prepared”!

I have been using Donna Young dot org printouts for the past three years. I have waffled back and forth on what is the most convenient way for me to record the days activities. I keep returning to the same four rows and five columns. This year (because I found the time) I added a pretty little picture and inspirational quote to the bottom of each page. Each page equates to a week of time and each kiddo gets two columns.

We are doing mandatory math. Mandatory meaning I really want them to do a page every day. Actually, I don’t so much care about a page a day… as long as they finish these little workbooks and understand the basic of math with which to build on. So I guess I’m aiming at a page a day! These are good little workbooks with color illustrations and enough but not too many problems per page. Keek has a minimum of 4 word problems to, at most, 36 memory (classic 2×2, 2×3, 2×4, 2×5…) problems a page. Fish has a story problem book (trying to tie in reading) with roughly 5 problems per page.

Also… I got my hands on a great reading list (by age- not grade) and have picked some books to plant around the house and at least, expose, the children too. I picked one a week all the way to Winter Break! When I start recording our activities I’ll post the books, too!

As far as science goes we have the “What Your 4th Grader Need To Know” and “What your 1st Grader Needs To Know” books by E.D. Hirsch. Keek has been carrying around the fourth grader book for a month now and keeps coming up with kooky science experiments. I’m not sure if she’s gathering them from the pbskids.org/zoom website, the mythbusters website, some other website or her 4th grader book! At any rate she’s excited to be the mad kitchen scientist once again!

Fish seems most interested in the History of Piracy. We’ve been watching pirate movies this summer and I have a sneaking suspicion that his love of pirates will continue into the fall. Perhaps it will segway into the Spanish Conquistadors and right into the 1st grader history section!

When school starts I’ll post the science and history discoveries and any other cool stuff we’ve found along the way!

Leave a Reply

