Our first three day weekend.

This going to school bit is not too bad.

Keek got 100% on her spelling tests… Yay! I can’t spell so she must’ve inherited that from her dad.  😛

She learned how to make an origami fortune cookie this week when she had a sub.  Evidently her teacher doesn’t allow them but all the girls have been…

“… Just dying to make them!  I learned from a girl in another fourth grade class.  She taught me at recess.  When the sub said we had free time I taught all the girls in my class and we all had so much fun!  I love substitutes!”

Fish is learning about econimics.  As the student of the day he gets to be in the front of the line, switch lights on and off and open the doors.  So when he was at the beginning of the recess line the boy behind him asked if he would trade hime places…  “He said he’d give me TEN DOLLARS!  But he only gave me two. ”

“Did you give him his money back?”

“No, I bought these with it!”  He said while beaming at me with new vampire teeth.

“Who did you buy them from?”  I asked.

“Hailey.  She said she’d give me my money back but I told her it was ok.  She got them out of the treasure box.”

“Oh.”

“And I got her phone number too, it’s xxx-xxxx and she’s coming over this weekend.”

“Oh?”

“Yea, we’re having a bar be que.”

“Oh, I didn’t know.”

“Yea, it’ll be fun!  Bye, mom!” and off he went to play.  So I guess he’s learning networking and pick up lines too?

Well, this pleasent Monday evening I am glad to report the kids are excited about going to school tomorrow.  They want to see friends and Keek wants to show off her new homework folder.  This is the second time in as many weeks that she has had some homework issue.  The first time it was her misunderstnding as to what, “due on Friday” meant.  She’s given weekly reading logs, weekly spelling practice wkst’s and four, one sided math wkst’s.  The first week she didn’t get all the spelling (I think it was) completed beacuse she thought it was just for fun.  “Due on Friday” somehow escaped her.  And on Wednesday of this past week she lost the whole homework folder on the bus.  I don’t know what her teacher will do about it but I suppose we’ll find out.  So now she’s got a pretty rose folder.  Hopefully too pretty to loose!  🙂

Friday night Fish came in from riding his bike with tears streaking his little dusty face.  I asked if he was hurt and he said no, he told me it wasn’t fair.

“What’s not fair?”

“At school everyone listens to me and all my friends do what I say.”

“They do?”

“Yes, it’s like I’m the King.”

Turns out dear sis wasn’t such a loyal subject, nor should she be.  All of a sudden I understood why Fish loves school so much.  🙂  After much consoling and smoothing of royal feathers he went back out to play with his princess sister and understood that if he was of royal lineage then she must be too.  Now when one is high and mighty the other refers to them as either, “King” or “Queen” and gender specific responces insue.  Either the “King” grunts and harumphs until he laughs or the “Queen” pounts, cross armed, until she laughs.  Pretty funny stuff.

Been busy out here at the new place.  Woring on staining the deck, making a path to the mailbox and general moving around of stuff.  Ch and I mowed and weed eated (ate?) yesterday and finished up today.  SO MUCH GRASS!  We were warned by the last lawn slave but didn’t take him as seriously as perhaps we should’ve.  Painted a rug on the linolium laundry room floor… maybe one day I’ll take a pic.  Still have to seal it so laundry is done carefully for a while.  Painted the mailbox too, lovely large black swirls cover it, looking like iron scrolling, with holly and ivy on the door and a rooted tree on the back.  Sealed with three coats of spray poly… should do the trick!

No luck on the van as of yet but soon, I hope!  Can’t wait for the cooling of fall and the onset of firewood and sweeping season.  Have been doing more advertizing but with little luck.  Bid a job but didn’t get it.  Ho hum fall will come.

Still the same on the job front for me… empty promises of, “you’re on the top of the list” and “as soon as I have an opening.”  We did sell the other house though, on payments.  Our buyer is a seemingly reliable, retired, adoptive single mom.  Hope all goes well with her.

Enough of this… I’m off to have some decaf tea.  Ahhhh, herbal refreshment! 😛

Leave a Reply

