Not Popovers

Alternately titled, “Haphazard Cooking” and “Custard Spongebread”

I watched a tv pop over recipe yesterday at Grandma Zuzu’s house.  It looked easy enough and delicious.  I didn’t have the right kind of flour though.  I didn’t have the recipe either.  I remembered what was in it though!  So I guessed.

Look at those holes... very spongy. yumm!

4eggs

1.5 c flour

2 tsp vanilla

1 c sugar (+/-)

1 tbs soda

1tsp salt

2 big pinches cinnamon sugar

1.5 cups milk (+ a splash)

I mixed the eggs sugar and vanilla in one bowl.  In another I mixed the dry ingred.  I stirred those together then added the milk.  Set oven to 425 F.  Pour into baking cups, almost full.  (The idea was to make pop overs remember.)   Bake for 20 minutes.

When I went to check on them they were not popping but I tested in the center with a toothpick at 20 minutes and they were done!  Cooled on a plate and ate.  Delicious!  Taste likes custard.  Not overly sweet and perfect with a pat of butter.  And hot tea.  🙂

Leave a Reply

