Poor Charles

Charles hit his nose.

The white stuff is neosporin.  This was four hours after the incident and seven hours ago.  The swelling has gone down on his forehead and he’s feeling better.  It was scary.  He came running in the house hollering, “Help me! HELP ME!”  All I knew was that he’d been cutting stuff with the table saw.  I thought he cut off his fingers.  It was so scary.  The blood was dripping down his chin and he was holding his face.  I couldn’t see anything.  The kids followed him in and we got to work.

Charles calmed down some and he let me look at his face.  Keek got me a damp washcloth.  Fish ran for a hand towel and glass of water.  Keek got ibuprofen and tylenol.  I got Charles washed up and we surveyed the damage.  We were all calmed down and then the kids went to the computer. I bandaged him up and checked for concusion.  No off sized pupils but no size change from light to dark.  Hmm.  I passed the computer to get the blood pressure cuff.

The kids were playing surgery games.  They found a new version of knee surgery and Fish said, “It makes my tummy tingle.  I don’t like it.”  I asked what he meant.  “It’s not animated mom it’s too real.  I don’t think I want to be a Doctor.”

Charles bp was up.  140/90 not so bad, considering.  The bleeding had slowed to a leak.  He went to go back outside to work some more.  I stopped him.  It wasn’t a good idea.  We read instead.

After a couple knee surgery’s Keek was bored and went to read her Red Cross 1st Aid manual.  Later she came out and said, matter of factly, “Mom, I know what kind of nurse I want to be.  I want to be a hospital pediatric nurse.”  I smiled and then she left the living room and went back to her room.

We read more.  It’s a good book, “City of Thieves” by David Benioff.  I’ll write a review when we’ve finished.  It’s a young Russian man’s view of WW2.  First person narrative.  So far so good.

Now Charles has vibrant black, purple and blue eye shadow.  The swelling has gone down.  He’s jovial and good spirited but tender and his eyes are tired.  So that’s it for today.

 

Leave a Reply

