Planting trees

Planting trees with the kids is one of the most eco green good example activities I can do.  As homeschoolers the planting and keeping of the trees teaches many important lessons.  As inhabitants of Earth we can ease the load of our carbon footprint.  And in a couple years it will make our honeybees very happy!

Today I received my ten free flowering trees from the National Arbor Day foundation.  I am now an unofficial arborist!  Yay!  The family and I planted the trees in staggered groups of two around the north and west sides of the house.  They are so very tiny.  Only a foot tall from root tip to branch top.  I do hope they thrive.

It was a mixed lot including two Sargent Crabapples,

two Eastern Redbuds,

two Goldenraintrees, 

two White Flowering Dogwoods

and two Washington Hawthorns. 

In four years I’ll have a nice floral tree garden.  🙂

Leave a Reply

